“Liking and Sharing isn’t participating or contributing it’s just lazy”

One of the most disappointing things about social media is the sudden realisation that the vast majority of people seek recognition for doing basically nothing. BlankWherever your social media lounge is based it is usually littered by a profusion of repetition. People rarely if ever post anything original, express a sincere, profound view or even have the courtesy to comment. It is about time people got their fat backsides off the social media couch and started paying their way.

As a blog writer and some one who initiates debate, plays devils advocate, lays my soul out there in cyberspace for all to see sometimes I would like to feel others are as involved as me. I want them to read, support and criticise. When I open up about all areas of my life from my first love The Arsenal to my professional passion the recruitment industry right or wrong I like to think I am participating in this huge collective called Social Media and the World Wide Web. Yes I share things I have read but I usually add some form of comment as to why I think it is worth sharing, what it means to me or what it doesn’t for that matter.

Yet everywhere you look there are observers, hangers on, freeloaders who just seem to take take take. Let us consider LinkedIn groups for example. I haven’t studied this but I am pretty certain that in most cases less than 10% of any group is actively participant in the group discussions. Even less actually start discussions. You can ask for help a hundred times as I did recently and not one single response or offer of insight or advice. So what is the point of having them? What is the point of being a member of one?

My LinkedIn timeline is often full of people re-posting stuff again and again. Littered with nonsense, proverbial sayings, theological, ideological, philosophical garbage regurgitated again and again like some self sustaining waste recycling system with no comment, observation or indication as to why they thought it was worthy of sharing anyway?

If you can't name a country without the letter A in the name your are an imbecile.

If you can’t name a country without the letter A in the name your are an imbecile.

I’ve taken to ‘hiding’ people who post crap on my LinkedIn timeline. If you don’t know how to ‘hide’ them then just follow these instructions – to the top left of the actual post if you hover over the corner a ‘hide’ button appears. It is bliss trust me. Never again will you have to see someone post the picture Professionally rubbish

6 thoughts on ““Liking and Sharing isn’t participating or contributing it’s just lazy”

  1. Tim Baker

    I agree here and am possibly guilty of sharing things without putting my comment or angle. I do think there is some value to my contacts seeing it who would probably have missed it. I will try and contribute more now I’ve been made aware of this!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Chris Downes

    I think the most frustrating thing on LinkedIn is the ‘like so I can see how many of my connections see this’, I hide pretty much all of them.

    Interesting blog Darren, I think a reason for the lack of content from certain people comes down to confidence; Some people I work with find it really daunting when they post or contribute to something on Linkedin, however in my experience, once they’ve done it a few times they continue to participate and really enjoy doing so.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Jon Reed

    Great points well made. This will sound like an excuse, but recently I have not had the time. I am also painfully aware I don’t always talk proper like wot you duz

    Like

    Reply
  4. Berni Albrighton

    I was finding this an interesting point of view, until I got to “My LinkedIn timeline is often full of people re-posting stuff again and again. Littered with nonsense, proverbial sayings, theological, ideological, philosophical garbage regurgitated again and again like some self sustaining waste recycling system with no comment, observation or indication as to why they thought it was worthy of sharing anyway?”
    Then I thought what a self righteous, obnoxious individual, and I am still left with that impression.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Darren Ledger Post author

    Berni – thanks for taking the time to read, even the parts you didn’t like or agree with. To be frank, this is the whole point of writing a blog in the first place. You may be correct from the perspective that I may have over done my point there. But sometimes overemphasis is needed to make a point in the first place.

    Cheers

    Darren

    Like

    Reply

All Donations (comments) appreciated if constructive

