LinkedIn adopt a Facebook tool that is long overdue and an abundance of LIONS!

Maybe I am behind the curve here and this facility or option has been available for a long time. But until today I didn’t realise that LinkedIn now had an option to block people from viewing or interacting with your profile.

Now maybe it is just me that has the occasional stalker on LinkedIn, but regardless the ability to block them from ever being able to see my profile or my activity ever again is actually rather satisfying.

Let’s be honest about this there are a whole multitude of people who have intentions which are far removed from doing honest business, from enhancing their sector or professional knowledge and essentially contributing to what is undoubtedly the worlds premier professional social network. I know that the many of the spam and phishing emails I receive come as a result of the openness of my contact information on LinkedIn. On average I receive about 25 invitations to connect from fake profiles. I know this because I use an online image checker to verify the authenticity of their profile image.

Those LION (LinkedIn Open Networker) Groups are partially responsible I am sure, anyone can join and anyone can message the group. I realised a long time ago that LION generally means multilevel marketing, work from home scams and all the other detritus of the world wide web.

On a more serious note almost all of my female colleagues and associates tell me they get marriage propositions and similar from suspicious characters all over the world. So I am sure they will be relieved by this option greatly.

Now I’m just waiting for them to introduce an option whereby I can restrict pictures of Lions, Word Puzzles, Maths Conundrums and other general pollution from my timeline.

I am a huge fan of the natural world and having seen Lions in the flesh sleeping in trees and prowling the bush in places such as Uganda and Rwanda I think that is where they belong. Either that or with some soothing and intelligent voice over courtesy of Sir David Attenborough. Not all over my LinkedIn profile.

So I toast LinkedIn on the introduction of this facility and look forward to even greater safety features in future. Deleting all the fake and duplicated profiles would be great. But considering that the families of the bereaved find it almost impossible to get their relatives profiles removed I won’t hold my breath for too long.

All Donations (comments) appreciated if constructive

