Move along, it’s just another Gurustation…

Who are you looking at?Is it just me or does anybody else find LinkedIn a little creepy these days? I’m not referring to the crappy mobile apps which essentially make LinkedIn entirely useless for pretty much anything you would probably want to do on a social media channel. Nor am I referring to all those ‘Anonymous’ views which, I know many of you become almost apoplectic about. No I’m talking about all those creepy recruiters who just keep popping in and out of your profile. They sneak in, have a quick nosey around, lift the bed linen and check under the bed, open the fridge steal a bit of cold chicken and then sneak back out again, usually kicking the cat and rattling the dustbins as they go.

It’s weird. I know what many of you will be thinking now. I should be flattered that generally as a rule almost 40% of the people who view my profile are recruiters. But I find it unnerving. Firstly I really don’t like the vast majority of the recruitment industry. Don’t misunderstand me, I love what I do and I know some truly remarkable people across every aspect, I’ve worked with many and know quite a few I’d love to work with if the chance arose. Secondly I genuinely don’t give a monkeys hairy arse about what the industry, my peers or anybody else within it is doing, fundamentally because it’s truly bloody dull and far from awe-inspiring. Usually the most exciting event is a collective online masturbation or Gurustation over some self-proclaimed ‘guru’ who spouts nuggets of wisdom that resemble the kind of stuff you would expect to get from a very cheap Fortune Cookie.

So if the last person I would probably ever consider viewing on LinkedIn is a fellow recruiter, why are they all looking at me? The old move along, nothing to see here adage works for me. I want to be viewed by the people I work for, my current and prospective customers and my target audience and chosen networks. Not a bunch of creepy recruiters ferreting through my underwear every day and kicking my cat.

All Donations (comments) appreciated if constructive

